Gym demand isn’t the problem. Sport Australia’s AusPlay data found that 28% of adults visited a gym, fitness club, or sports or leisure center between July 2023 and December 2024. Price is where owners get stuck.

Most software pages show one friendly number. Then the quote arrives with GST, payment fees, a branded app, and a door reader. That first number is just the first line of an invoice.

So this guide reads the quote like an invoice. You will see a dated price table, each line that can change the total, three member-size examples, and a 12-month calculation you can copy. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, we say “not documented.”

The short answer

There is no single price for gym management software in Australia. Published plans in our check ran from AUD 0 to about AUD 454 a month, and some vendors quote enterprise plans only on request. Member limits, locations, features, payment processing, and hardware explain the spread. Vendors charge in four ways, each suited to a different gym.

Pricing modelWhat it meansBest for
Free planNo base software fee, but fees on paymentsNew or very small gyms
Fixed monthly planOne fee per tierIndependent gyms
Member-based tiersCost rises as you pass a member capGrowing gyms
Per-location or customPriced per site, or quoted to your needsMulti-site operators

The sticker price: what vendors publish

These are the entry prices on each vendor’s pricing page. We rechecked Clubworx, GymMaster, and Mindbody in Australia on October 19, 2026, as well as PushPress and Gymdesk. Prices change, so confirm before you sign.

SoftwarePublished prices (monthly)CurrencyGST on the page
GymManagement-Software.comFree (USD 0 plus processing); Excel USD 99; Exceed USD 199; Ultimate USD 299. About AUD 0, AUD 150, AUD 302, AUD 454USD, AUD shown at a fixed 1.52 rateNot mentioned
ClubworxAUD 0 (20 members); AUD 109 (100); AUD 149 (250); AUD 169 (unlimited)AUDNot mentioned
GymMasterAUD 119 (100 members); AUD 179 (400); AUD 289 (1,300); Enterprise by quoteAUDExcluded
MindbodyAUD 89, AUD 279, or AUD 369 per location, by planAUDNot stated
PushPressUSD 0 Free; USD 159 Pro; USD 229 MaxUSD; international pricing through salesNot stated
GymdeskUSD 75 (up to 50 members) with its payments; USD 100 withoutUSDNot stated

Three notes. GymMaster says its prices exclude tax and gives 10% off yearly billing. Clubworx lists 20% off yearly billing. GymManagement-Software.com shows AUD at a fixed rate of 1.52, so USD 99 becomes about AUD 150. Confirm the billing currency before you sign. Mindbody’s Australian page lists plans at AUD 89, AUD 279, and AUD 369, though a note on the same page mentions a different entry price, so ask for a written quote.

Line items: what changes the total

Read each quote line by line. These are the lines that move.

Line 1: Members and locations

Some plans cap active members. Clubworx steps from 20 to 100 to 250 to unlimited. GymMaster steps from 100 to 400 to 1,300. Mindbody prices vary by location, and they get more complex when you add a second studio.

Line 2: Features and add-ons

Entry tiers cover memberships and bookings. Automation, reporting, and branded apps are typically on higher tiers. Clubworx lists a member app at AUD 100 a month and a custom branded app at AUD 200 a month on paid tiers, and the app is not available on its Free plan.

Line 3: GST

If a price excludes GST, add 10%. The ATO describes GST as a broad-based tax of 10% on most goods and services. Your own turnover matters too: you must register once your GST turnover reaches AUD 75,000, and the ATO says to register within 21 days of crossing it.

Line 4: Payment processing

Billing is where the quote usually changes. Stripe’s Australian pricing, which includes GST, lists domestic cards at 1.65% plus AUD 0.30 and bank debit at 1% plus AUD 0.30, capped at AUD 3.50. Stripe also says its card pricing is scheduled to be lower from April 1, 2027.

Card surcharges are changing. The ACCC says that from October 1, 2026, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and EFTPOS are introducing no-surcharge rules for prepaid, debit, and credit cards. The card networks and payment providers enforce the rules, not the ACCC. Plan to absorb card fees and check your payment contract.

How big are card fees? The Reserve Bank of Australia published a small-merchant fee range: under 1% to well over 2% of transaction value, with 1.5% to 2% the most common band. On an AUD 66 payment, that common band is about AUD 1 to AUD 1.30 before any fixed fee.

Bank debit has a ceiling too. Per Stripe’s BECS debit docs, new accounts start with a default limit of AUD 10,000 per week. At AUD 66 a member, that covers 151 members debited in one week. Ask for a higher limit before you move a large member base.

Line 5: Hardware, setup, and support

Door readers, branded apps, and data migration are common extras.

ExpenseWhat to checkWhat we found
Door accessReaders, controllers, installationGymMaster adds AUD 40 to AUD 50 a month (AUD 169, AUD 229, AUD 329 against AUD 119, AUD 179, AUD 289). GymManagement-Software.com includes door access on Exceed and Ultimate, plus a one-time USD 299 reader fee
Direct-debit failuresDishonor feesStripe’s docs mention failure fees, but the page I read did not state the amount; ask each vendor
SMSPer-message ratesClubworx charges per SMS but does not list the rate on its pricing page
Data migrationImport costs, trainingOn GymManagement-Software.com, free on paid plans. Not documented for other vendors
SupportHours and response timesGymManagement-Software.com Free plan: self-serve help with a 48-hour human response. Not documented for other vendors

Our access control system page covers reader details.

Free or paid? Check the limits first

Free plans exist, but they differ. Clubworx’s Free plan covers up to 20 active members and excludes its app add-ons. PushPress lists a USD 0 plan in USD and points international buyers to sales.

GymManagement-Software.com’s Free plan has no monthly fee and no member cap. It includes memberships and billing, class scheduling, online bookings, point-of-sale, waivers, and a member CRM. It leaves out the staff app, waitlisting, events, door access, and free migration.

The trade-off is processing. Free charges 4.99% + USD 0.30 on cards. Excel charges 2.89% + USD 0.30. On an AUD 66 card payment, that is about AUD 3.29, compared with AUD 1.91 before the fixed fee. The gap is 2.10 points, so Excel’s USD 99 pays for itself at roughly USD 4,715 a month in card volume (about AUD 7,165). Its ACH rates apply to the US banking system, so confirm the Australian bank-debit option.

A free plan can be enough with one location, light card volume, and no door reader. Even then, check four limits: member, staff, and location caps; which payment methods work in Australia; integrations and support hours; and what triggers the first paid tier. Our guide to the best free gym software compares the field in depth.

Quote check: read every line

Use this checklist on every quote you collect.

  • Monthly subscription, and whether GST is included
  • Member limit, and what happens at the cap
  • Staff and location limits
  • Card fees and bank-debit fees
  • Failed-debit and dispute fees
  • Setup, migration, and training costs
  • Hardware, readers, and installation
  • SMS and app add-ons
  • Contract length and cancellation terms

What 50, 100, and 300 members cost

These examples use published prices, not industry averages. Payment costs assume an AUD 66 monthly membership and Stripe’s list rates as a benchmark. Your processor may charge differently.

Gym sizeMain needsSoftware (published prices)Monthly payment fees (bank debit / card)
50 membersMemberships, basic bookingsAUD 109 Clubworx; AUD 119 GymMasterAUD 48.00 / AUD 69.45
100 membersPayments, reminders, reportingAUD 109 Clubworx; AUD 119 GymMaster (both at their cap)AUD 96.00 / AUD 138.90
300 membersMore staff, access hardware, reportingAUD 169 Clubworx; AUD 179 GymMasterAUD 288.00 / AUD 416.70

At 300 members, bank-debit fees of AUD 288 a month exceed the AUD 179 software fee. Processing is the larger line.

Build your own 12-month number

The formula: monthly cost = subscription + GST + transaction fees + add-ons + allocated setup and hardware.

  1. Take each plan’s subscription and add 10% GST if it is excluded.
  2. Add payment fees based on your volume and payment mix.
  3. Add add-ons and hardware.
  4. Multiply by 12, then add one-off setup.

Staff time counts too. The national minimum wage rises to AUD 26.44 an hour on July 1, 2026, according to a wage review summary. Ten hours a month of manual billing and admin (an illustrative figure) costs AUD 264.40 in wages alone, or AUD 3,172.80 a year.

Example 1: 300 members, 12 months

A plan at AUD 179 excluding GST costs AUD 196.90 with GST, or AUD 2,362.80 a year. Add AUD 3,456 in benchmark bank-debit fees (AUD 288 times 12). The first-year total is AUD 5,818.80 before hardware.

Example 2: two quotes, one fair comparison

Plan A shows AUD 169 excluding GST. Plan B shows AUD 179 including GST. Plan A costs AUD 185.90 with GST, so over 12 months A is AUD 2,230.80 and B is AUD 2,148. B is AUD 82.80 cheaper, even though its sticker price looked higher.

Judge every quote over 12 months. Yearly billing and tier jumps only show up when you add up the year. GymMaster takes 10% off yearly billing, and GymManagement-Software.com lists 20% off annual payments. Clubworx’s Established plan lists AUD 1,623 billed yearly against AUD 2,028 billed monthly.

Your owner action list

  • Write down your member count today and your goal for next year.
  • Choose card, bank debit, or both, and estimate your payment mix.
  • Ask two vendors for written quotes on identical inputs.
  • Ask each vendor for GST status and failed-debit fees in writing.
  • Request a higher weekly bank-debit limit if you are moving many members.
  • Add hardware and setup to the 12-month total.
  • Compare the plan at your cap and one tier above it.

For a closer look at trade-offs, read our guide to the cheap software trade-offs.

FAQs

How much does gym management software cost per month in Australia?

Published entry prices range from AUD 0 on Clubworx’s free plan to AUD 89 per location on Mindbody and AUD 119 per site on GymMaster, as of October 19, 2026. Prices rise with members, locations, and add-ons, and payment fees come on top.

Is there free gym management software in Australia?

Yes. Clubworx lists a free plan for up to 20 active members, and PushPress lists a USD 0 plan. GymManagement-Software.com’s Free plan includes unlimited members and staff but charges 4.99% + USD 0.30 for card payments. Check each plan’s limits and fees before you commit.

Do Australian gym software prices include GST?

It depends on the vendor. GymMaster says its prices exclude tax, so add 10% GST. Mindbody and Clubworx do not mention GST on the pages we read. Ask each vendor for a GST-inclusive monthly figure in writing before you compare quotes.

Does gym software charge per member?

Some do. Clubworx tiers by active members, and GymMaster caps current members per plan. GymManagement-Software.com lists unlimited members and staff on every plan, and Mindbody lists unlimited users per location. Compare cap rules closely, because crossing one moves you into a higher tier.

Are access control systems included in software pricing?

Usually not. GymMaster prices door access as a separate tier, and GymManagement-Software.com includes it from Exceed, plus a one-time reader fee. Controllers, installation, and support may add to the bill, so request a written hardware quote alongside the software price.

Conclusion

The cheapest advertised plan is rarely the cheapest year. Compare software by total cost: subscription, GST, payment fees, add-ons, and hardware, multiplied by twelve months. Use the same member count and payment mix for every quote, and ask each vendor to put GST and fees in writing.

Want a clear Australian quote?

GymManagement-Software.com offers a Free plan to get started, plus paid plans with unlimited members and staff, no contracts, and free data migration. Book a demo, bring the checklist above, and we will price it line by line.